full screen background image

Third Schedule. Part 1. B – Council of State


Schedule 3 Part 1 B

5. The Council of State shall comprise the following persons:

(a) the President, who shall be the Chairman;

(b) the Vice-President, who shall be the Deputy Chairman;

(c) all former Presidents of the Federation and all former Heads of the Government of the Federation;

(d) all former Chief Justices of Nigeria;

(e) the President of the Senate;

(f) the Speaker of the House of Representatives;

(g) all the Governors of the states of the Federation; and

(h) the Attorney-General of the Federation.

6. The Council shall have power to:
(a) advise the President in the exercise of his powers with respect to the:-
(i) national population census and compilation, publication and keeping of records and other information concerning the same;
(ii) prerogative of mercy;
(iii) award of national honours;
(iv) the Independent National Electoral Commission (including the appointment of members of that Commission);
(v) the National Judicial Council (including the appointment of the members, other than ex-officio members of that Council); and
(vi) the National Population Commission (including the appointment of members of that Commission); and

(b) advise the President whenever requested to do so on the maintenance of public order within the Federation or any part thereof and on such other matters as the President may direct.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *