full screen background image

Third Schedule. Part 1. E – Federal Judicial Service Commission


Schedule 3 Part 1 E

12. The Federal Judicial Service Commission shall comprise the following members
(a) the Chief Justice of Nigeria, who shall be the Chairman;
(b) the President of the Court of Appeal;
(c) the Attorney-General of the Federation;
(d) the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court;
(e) two persons, each of whom has been qualified to practice as a legal practitioner in Nigeria for a period of not less than fifteen years, from a list of not less than four persons so qualified and recommended by the Nigerian Bar Association; and
(f) two other persons, not being legal practitioners, who in the opinion of the President are of unquestionable integrity.

13. The Commission shall have power to –
(a) advise the National Judicial Council in nominating persons for appointment, as respects appointments to the office of –
(i) the Chief Justice of Nigeria;
(ii) a Justice of the Supreme Court;
(iii) the President of the Court of Appeal;
(iv) a Justice of the Court of Appeal;
(v) the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court;
(vi) a Judge of the Federal High Court; and
(iv) the Chairman and members of the Code of Conduct Tribunal.
(b) recommend to the National Judicial Council, the removal from office of the judicial officers specified in sub-paragraph (a) of this paragraph; and
(c) appoint, dismiss and exercise disciplinary control over the Chief Registrars and Deputy Chief Registrars of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the Federal High Court and allĀ other members of the staff of the judicial service of the Federation not otherwise specified in this Constitution and of the Federal Judicial Service Commission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *